Using the Old Version of Rostering

Follow

Although we have a new version of rostering (support articles for this available here), some users may prefer to use the old version. This can be accessed by clicking on the "Manage Employee" button on the dashboard, then click on Rostering...

To switch to the old version, click on the icon as seen below:

Creating a New Shift

... note you can change your view from day to week to fortnight (1) and also filter your view according to the options 2,3 & 4 if you wish.

Now just click in the box where you want to schedule a shift (eg. 5) and this pop up box will appear...

... change the data (eg. 1,2,3 & 4 etc) and decide whether you want to publish the shift there and then (5) or when you have completed the whole roster.  

Once you are happy with the roster you can "bulk" publish shifts using the big green button at the top of the roster.  

If you need to un-publish shifts, you can do this individually or in bulk. 

You can unpublish an individual shift by following these steps:

  1. In the employee roster screen, click the shift you'd like to publish
  2. In the shift dialog that is displayed, untick the "Publish" option and click "Save"

Bulk unpublishing shifts

You can bulk unpublish shifts by following these steps:

  1. Open the employee roster and navigate to the date range that contains the shifts you want to unpublish
  2. Click the orange "XX shifts to unpublish" button
  3. Confirm that you want to unpublish the shifts by clicking the "Unpublish" button in the confirmation dialogue
  4. Once you have bulk unpublished those shifts, they will no longer be visible to employees in the employee portal and they will turn blue in the employee roster.

Adding Qualifications

If the shift you are creating requires the employee/s to have a certain qualification, you will need to ensure you select the relevant qualification/s from the drop down menu in the qualifications field (3)




If the employee you select does not have the relevant qualifications you will have to roster another employee.  However, you can override the roster to create a shift for an "unqualified employee".  You will see a warning (see image above).

If the employee has the qualification/s but not had them allocated to him/her, you will need to allocate before rostering the employee.  Follow this link on how to allocate qualifications, Qualifications - Allocate to Employee.  

Filtering Shifts

You can save filters for later so that you can quickly switch between different views of shifts within your business.

You can create a filter for shifts by following these steps:

  1. In the employee roster screen, select the grouping, shift status, employee and location (just click in the Show Locations box, where highlighted, and the list of locations will appear for you to select from) that you'd like to filter by



  2. Click the "Save Filter" button on the bottom right corner



  3. Select a name for the filter and click "Save"



Your filter will now be saved and show up in the list of filters available. Clicking on a filter in the list will automatically apply that filter to the employee roster.

Maintaining Budgets

When rostering employees, it is often a requirement that the wages be constrained to a particular budget.

This feature provides the ability to enter budgets and then have them displayed on the roster. Budgets may either be entered directly (eg: $3,000 for the day) or as a percentage of projected sales (eg: projected sales of $10000, wages budget set to 30% of sales).

Budget Settings

To access the budget settings, click on the 'Settings' button on the Rostering page:

These settings are only available to payroll administrators. Manager/supervisor users are unable to access or modify these settings. 

Field Descriptions:

Managers can view roster costs: If this is checked, manager/supervisor users will be able to view the employee wage costs when creating rosters. If it is unchecked, only payroll administrators will see wage costs.

Managers can edit roster budgets: If this is checked, manager/supervisor users will be able to maintain the budget amounts. Otherwise, only payroll administrators will be able to maintain budget amounts

Rostering budget warning: When wages are within this percentage of the budgeted amount, the colour of the budget display will change to indicate that the budget limit is approaching.

Budget entry method: This setting will control how budgets will be entered - either as a percentage of sales or as a direct budget figure.

Editing Budgets

To edit the budgets, click the 'Edit Budgets' button on the rostering page.

The following dialog will be displayed:

To set up a budget:

  • Select a location
  • Enter the budget amounts
  • Click 'Save'
  • Either select another location or click 'Close'

If the date range needs to be changed, the arrow buttons in the top right corner will move the period forward or backward.

To clear all budgets for a period, click the 'Actions' button and then click 'Clear Budgets'

To copy the budgets from the previous period, click the 'Actions' button and then click 'Copy budgets from last week' (or fortnight).

Viewing Budgets

Once the budgets have been entered, they will be shown on the roster.

Days where the budget is approaching the limit are highlighted in yellow. Days where the budget limit has been exceeded are highlighted in red.

The following conditions apply to the display of budget information:

  • When grouping by Location, budget information will be shown for each location.
  • When grouping by Employee, budget information will only be shown if there is a single location selected. If there are no locations selected in the 'Show Locations' box or if there are multiple locations, budget information will not be shown.
  • If the user is a manager/supervisor and the 'Managers can view roster costs' option is not enabled, budgets will not be displayed.

If you have any questions or feedback, please let us know via support@yourpayroll.com.au

 

 

Powered by Zendesk